Discovering new knitting techniques

I learned how to knit as a child, and rediscovered knitting a few years ago. My favourite thing is learning new techniques. There are so many ways to do things! Below, I’ve listed some techniques that I’ve tried. Most of them I would not have discovered if it hadn’t been for the Internet. I shudder to think about never knowing Magic Loop.

  •  Magic Loop
  • Judy’s magic cast-on
  • Cable cast-on
  • Tubular cast-on and bind-off
  • Jeny’s surprisingly stretchy bind-off
  • Kitchener stitch
  • Norwegian purl

Finding a new, useful technique makes me happy the same way that mastering an instrument or drawing a nice sketch does. Which is pretty major. Next post, I’ll explain why I like Magic Loop.

Leave a Reply

